April 25, 2009

This year's awards banquet took place yesterday in the beautiful new Tarble Arena. I'm not exactly one to really get into banquets and all (and am certainly not into planning them, so thanks go out to Guy) and typically I try to make them breeze by.

This year, however, I tried to be a little more reflective with an account of the season. It was really remarkable in so many ways, on so many different levels.

We present five different awards that center around what we strive for Carthage swimming to represent - performance in the pool, performance in the classroom, hard work, and team work. A year or so ago, we also added a fifth award - the Red Men award that aims to represent someone who combines all of these qualities.

Most Valuable Swimmer - Stephen Schranck
Most Valuable Teammate - Andy Bax
Hardest Worker - Nathan Ripley
Red Men Award - Andy Bax
Scholar Athlete - Alex Van Huis

Additionally, we recognized the following (included are some awards that we've just learned about)
  • NCAA Sportsmanship Award - Isaac Rothenbaum
  • NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship - Bryan Pelka
  • Carthage Simmons Award - Stephen Schranck
  • CCIW Most Outstanding Participant - Isaac Rothenbaum
  • CCIW Merle Chapman Award - Bryan Pelka
  • Fourth-Year Letterwinners: Andy Bax, Bryce Davis, Bryan Pelka, Stephen Scrhanck, Chris Steenrod
  • Third-Year Letterwinners: Nathan Ripley, Alex Van Huis
  • Second-Year Letterwinners: Pat Alfes, Blake Bendix, Buck Hoover, Bob Pellican, Isaac Rothenbaum, Derek Schneider, Tom Stowe, Chris Varner
  • First-Year Letterwinners: Alex Boyer, Ben Coder, Adam Glover, Dan Jones, Mike Moravek, Ryan Ortmann, Eric Ross, Clinton Scheirer, Doug Schranck, Adam Van Huis, Kyle Winiecki



Total Pageviews

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Archive

Copyright © Red Tide Report | Powered by Blogger
Design by SimpleWpThemes | Blogger Theme by Lasantha - PremiumBloggerTemplates.com | NewBloggerThemes.com